It’s Ok To Follow Him Even If He’s Lost

To ring in the turning of 2004 into 2005, myself and a few friends from college road tripped down to Nashville for a Basement concert by Bobby Bare, Jr, whose songs I had just got a bit obsessed with after following the line from his back up vocals on “I’m Getting Back Into Getting Back Into You” to the end of his leash.

At the time of the trip, I was “editing” the news and views section of a campus alternative magazine, so I figured I would play the journalist and interview Bobby before the show. It went well except for one minor detail. I accidentally didn’t turn on my digital recorder. The only bit of the interview that I recorded was a post-interview follow-up where he told me that Jerry Lawler used to be his dad’s bookie and that he wrote Terrible Sunrise about David Berman. Despite those notable tidbits, I never wrote an article based on the interview as I was too ashamed of my journalistic malfeasance and my drunken post-show request that Bobby suggest a breakfast joint for me and my friends (“Cracker Barrel”).

Despite my continuing embarrassment over my raw reportage, I am still a BBJ fan. In fact, I’m pretty sure I’ve seen him live more than any other artist, including at an awesome house party performance on Capitol Hill. With all that in mind, I thought it appropriate to note that a documentary is being made about Mr. Bare and the filmmaker is looking for volunteer funding to finish the project. You can watch some footage here:

Donate to the film if you feel inclined. See Bobby play live if you get the chance. Download a free EP of his here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

