Left Handed Guitars Are For Friends

Yesterday, I alluded to my strong childhood connection to Nirvana’s music, which I was introduced to, I believe, in 4th grade when my brother got the Nevermind CD for Christmas. Needless to say, I was quite obsessed in my younger days. I have vivid memories of watching the 1992 MTV Music Video Awards at my friend Rob’s house and ripping through Michael Azzerad’s Come As You Are biography as soon as I could get my hands on it. I’m sure I will write more about this part of my history and development in the near future.

After writing the post, I putzed around on the Internet for a bit, watching Nirvana-related videos. This interview with Krist Novoselic talking about Kurt Cobain for the Experience Music Project was particularly interesting/touching:

I like how even though Novoselic is talking to a project about Nirvana’s legacy, his thoughts on Kurt are grounded in the simple emotions of someone who lost a friend. Novoselic acknowledges that his comment that Kurt “just shouldn’t have done that” is an “understatement,” but it seems appropriate to me in its simplicity.

I have friends and family in the Seattle area and I will hopefully visit them before EMP’s Nirvana: Taking Punk To The Masses exhibit expires in April 2013.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

