Review: Adam Wilson’s Flatscreen

Earlier this month, I interviewed Adam Wilson, whose debut novel Flatscreen was just released. I’ve now read the book and can report back. It’s good! I’m biased by knowing him, but I legitimately enjoyed it. Here’s what I wrote on Goodreads:

It’s hard to be truly objective about Wilson’s debut novel since I knew the author growing up and the fictional Boston suburb the story is set in is not very hard to recognize as inspired by the real one we grew up in. He definitely nails the atmosphere of our era of suburban young adulthood. That said, I think the book stands well on its own merits. Wilson has a deft control of language and it shines through with humor on most pages. I might not recommend the book to my mother because of the raunchiness, but that’s a matter of taste rather than quality. It’s not surprising to learn that he studied under Sam Lipsyte in Columbia’s MFA program, as there is a certain similarity in some of their approach to plays on words and common phrases, but the writing style is not derivative. Like the best of Lipsyte, Flatscreen is funny through and through without shying away from the serious feeling.

I’m also happy to report that there are scenes/passages in the book that at least two of the songs I picked for his mix would score well.

Here’s the book trailer for Flatscreen, directed by Wilson’s younger brother Gabriel and starring YouTrilogy author Paul Rome with some other people less important than Rome:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Adam Wilson’s Flatscreen

  1. Brooks says:

    I really enjoyed your Goodreads review and even though I didn’t love Flatscreen as much as you did (or even as much as I wanted to), it certainly had moments of hilarity as well as sadness and darkness.

Leave a Reply

