Anyone Can Play Guitar (Even Me?)

Back in elementary school, when my best friends and I first seriously got into rock music, we did talked a lot about forming a band. This cheap talk never led to a band practice, let alone the creation of any music, but it did lead to the assignment of instruments that we would eventually play in our future band.

Despite my lack of rhythm, I was to be our drummer. I even took drum lessons for about four years. But there were two problems, beyond my ear’s deficiencies in picking up the beat, that held me back from ever getting comfortable behind a snare: I didn’t practice much and I would try to drum along with the guitar. Before long, my musical growth was stunted and eventually abandoned.

I did try to pick up guitar in college, but once again practice was intermittent at best. Worse than that, I wasn’t realistic about what I would need to do to get comfortable with a six string. Instead of focusing on the fundamentals and building my skills steadily, I would look up the tabs for songs I liked and then get frustrated when I couldn’t play them. Eventually I stopped trying.

But I never stopped loving music. And now that I’m working at a job that doesn’t come home with me at the end of the day, I’ve decided that I need a hobby. Something creative and a little bit physical. So, with that in mind, I’m going to learn to play guitar.

I’m going to be realistic about this endeavor though. I’m not picturing myself as a rock star on a stage. My ambition is to be someone who can comfortably play an instrument for his own enjoyment. If I’m lucky, I might get to a place where I can be creative with it.

The plan is simple. I recently purchased “Hal Leonard Guitar Method Complete Edition.” Using it as a guide, I’m going to practice for 30 minutes a day. The idea is to go slow and steady as she goes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

